Getting To Know Me

Who am I?

I am a 20 year old boy. I live in India. Single πŸ˜€

Why did I start this blog?

The first time I heard about blogs was when I was 13.

It was in the celebrity section of the newspaper. Some guy had thousands of people following his blog posts.So I looked it up to know what the hype was about. The dictionary said a blog is a web log where a person posts his experiences and daily happenings. Typical dictionary. Then when I was 15 somebody said blogs were like websites where people write,other people read and if they like it,they come back and read some more.. It all sounded pretty cool to me considering the fact that we had hooked up our broadband recently. By then, somebody related to my mother’s friend’s daughter’s….(this chain won’t end) was earning money by blogging. That was it. Suddenly everybody started telling me that if I wanted to do that I must start doing whatever that guy was doing.

My perspective of looking at blogs totally changed to a point where I started thinking of it as a advertisement fueled cash-cow. Feed her any posts fodder and milk her udder. That led me to my first blog on Blogger. The online tutorials to make blog money said go with Blogger and I started following their each and every step like a person following a manual. It was easy. Log in. Type stuff. Tell everybody you know you have typed stuff,tell them to pass it on to few others . Place ads. When people look at your stuff the ads start raking in the money.

My first attempt failed spectacularly. Then I realized this isn’t about money. This is not a job. It is a form of writing something not too dedicated as a book, but a small article in the paper. You create a blog.You post,you let it grow,you let it reach people. And then the people start coming in. This was the how it began. My Blogger identity is no more. I changed shop to WordPress once I realized WP gave better connections between fellow bloggers. It is a social network,like Goodreads for books. It is Β the older, wiser brother to the teenage boy that is Blogger.

My blog doesn’t have a fixed subject. I write about everything.

Author: Rugwed

When Rugwed Soman isn't trying to create a kickass third person bio for himself, he is busy writing stuff, reading stuff, taking photos, dominating the world in video games and pretending to be Sherlock Holmes; not necessarily in that order.

24 thoughts on “Getting To Know Me”

    1. Glad you liked it! You are pretty interesting too. Thoughtful with the right amount of funny. Following The Web Chick now.

  1. All d Best ..Keep writing .. n just “SINGLE” is what i didn’t understand ..else it has taken me down to my memory lane of introduction to Blogging πŸ™‚

      1. This is great! So now you have hot fanbase which was once non-existent. And I loved the part where you kinda ‘fell’ into blogging.
        Oh and sorry. Couldn’t respond at once. It was 1 AM yesterday and I managed to fall asleep right at the keyboard.

Leave a Reply

