Why Do I Write?

The one with the autobiography

This is the first assignment of Writing 101 by WordPress’ Blogging U. I unfortunately  forgot to signup for the course. However, I have decided to complete them by looking at my Blogging 101 buddies. The ever Vibrant Anand and the Indiana Jones-esque Arpita 

Coming back now. I’ll start by saying that writing was something I started doing when I ran out of books to read.

I was 7 years old I guess. That was the time when I started reading Magic Pot. It is a bimonthly magazine for kids. It has stories, puzzles, jokes; the complete package. There was this one issue where the hero of the story, a rabbit, outwitted the evil lion. I did not like the way it ended. I started to rewrite its end. It was not more than 5 sentences, but hey! That was it. Writing came to me naturally since then.

I started writing essays, shorts stories and stuff in high school competitions. From there I moved on to speeches and finally as I have said before, blogs. Writing has turned me into a grammar nerd. I never use shortcuts in my WhatsApp texts.Writing makes me happy. Writing makes me feel at home. Writing makes me admire other people’s work. I write because I feel like an artist painting with words. I cannot stop doing it until the masterpiece is done.

This is one of my favorite quotes by Mark Twain.

chalkboard_quotes_twain

I had even decided to become a lawyer where you get to talk and write. That didn’t happen though. I am an engineer-in-progress. However, I am and will always be, a wordsmith.

Author: Rugwed

When Rugwed Soman isn't trying to create a kickass third person bio for himself, he is busy writing stuff, reading stuff, taking photos, dominating the world in video games and pretending to be Sherlock Holmes; not necessarily in that order.

7 thoughts on “Why Do I Write?”

    1. Glad you liked it. 🙂 I tend to write what comes to my mind. Sometimes, it is about my friends; sometimes it is about something else. Dedication is a very high compliment BTW 😀

Leave a Reply

