Back to pressing words!

The one with with the comeback.

Wow. It’s been a long time. Really long. Last time I logged into WordPress I had to send a smoke signal to the servers. The server sent me a pigeon and being the Neanderthal I was, I wrote my posts on stones and erected the pillars on the ground. True story. Look it up.

easterislandheads1
    This is an actual selfie of me and my friends

Seriously though, I was busy with college and stuff. I (re)discovered Quora in the last few months. There is something about that site that drew me in. Maybe it is the instant feedback and quick response to your content. Whatever it was, I decided to keep the blog off for a few months and switch to Quora instead. I logged into WordPress exactly twice. Replied to a few comments and left. Never looked beyond the notification area.

But something happened yesterday. I clicked on one of the email forwards from the Daily Post. Looked around and landed on Today’s Prompt. Vanish. Now I’ve never written or responded to the Daily’s Post’s prompts. I’ve participated in two of Blogging U classes but prompts is something I never could wrap my mind around. But this prompt felt different. It was like the site was scolding me about the absence.

When I decided to start posting again I realized I was kinda running away from it. Writing a post of 3 paragraphs requires a disciplined mind.  You need to be attentive. You need to be original. Even if you write total shit, that shit needs to be put into words. And that, putting things into words was one thing I felt awkward doing again. When you actually start writing things, you type them just as you think. Then you realize it sounds weird or corny. You try to embellish the sentences. It works too; temporarily. But it feels like swimming with a floater. The instant the funny joke sentence ends you are back to producing your own words, which gets a little bit harder each time you do it.

I noticed myself erasing paragraphs just to rewrite them again with a minor change. Churning out a wall of text is like your mind doing a workout. Producing original content from a single word feels like an insurmountable wall, and yet, if you pull it off, nothing matches the rewarding feeling you get. Glad to be doing that again. Happy to get back. Proud of not staying vanished anymore.

Inspired by the prompt Vanish

Author: Rugwed

When Rugwed Soman isn't trying to create a kickass third person bio for himself, he is busy writing stuff, reading stuff, taking photos, dominating the world in video games and pretending to be Sherlock Holmes; not necessarily in that order.

5 thoughts on “Back to pressing words!”

  1. Very enjoyable read – are those monuments still in existence and is that their natural original setting? I’ve seen that some places monuments are being dismantled or destroyed. You have recreated yourself as a sandstone man? (hope that remark isn’t offensive!) Thanks for sharing, look forward to returning another time 🙂

    1. Thanks! Those statues are the Easter Island statues in the Pacific Ocean. They are centuries old and are currently a UNESCO World Heritage Site. And yep, totally a sandstone man now! 😀

      1. Lol, I’m showing my ignorance again then! Hopefully the recent ‘tsunamis’ haven’t destroyed such monuments elsewhere – some of such disasters appear to be potentially man-made through military operations/war crimes – although that sounds totally crazy! Prob just coincidences.

Leave a Reply

